nyc // amoroso!!

April 12, 2012 § 1 Comment

I can be sickeningly nostalgic. My memory for faces and places and distinct moments veers on the absurd (never ask me to remember a name, however, because that just isn’t happening).

Exhibit A: The first time, as a Boston resident, that I went to a show alone at Great Scott. I’m not sure how I ended up there, as it was all local bands that I hadn’t become familiar with yet (This Car Up, Amoroso, Paper Thin Stages), but there I was, PBR in hand, posted up by that column that is every solo show-goer’s saving grace.

And you know what I remember? I remember the Ebow-like thing being used by Paper Thin Stages. I remember “Life In A Small House” by This Car Up (okay, maybe I am alright with names). There was that boy who asked me out because he couldn’t understand why a girl would be at a show alone. And there was that moment when Amoroso totally destroyed my mind. Before moving to Boston I was going through a pretty severe NME-influenced phase. This was different.

This is just a glimpse of the hyper-speed journey down memory lane my brain subjected me to Monday, when I saw that the very same Amoroso would be playing at Cake Shop Thursday night (that’s tonight!).

Can you handle it?

With:
Via Audio
King Stork
Whale Belly
Amoroso

8 PM $8

§ One Response to nyc // amoroso!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading nyc // amoroso!! at Pilgrims of Sound.

meta

