nyc // if i could talk i’d tell you

October 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

I absolutely, completely, utterly love The Lemonheads. It started with that song “Confetti”, which led to an obsession with the album It’s A Shame About Ray, after which I discovered the earlier punk Lemonheads of the ’80s… you know, the Hate Your Friends variety. Along the way I’ve filled in all the gaps and listened to all Dando’s covers and dabbled with his solo albums and… I just love The Lemonheads.

My first spring in Boston, Dando and company took the stage of the Paradise to perform It’s A Shame About Ray in its entirety. I remember every minute of that show – the annoying guy recording in front of me (I now often watch the videos he took that night, thanks YouTube), the cover of “Different Drum”, the moment when Nash Kato from Urge Overkill joined the stage, sunglasses and all, for a rendition of “Girl, You’ll Be A Woman Soon”. Top 5 Shows, easy.

And this is your chance! If you are smart, you remembered to get tickets to see The Lemonheads (Dando plus who, I don’t know) perform It’s A Shame About Ray from start to finish at Bowery Ballroom TONIGHT. If you didn’t plan ahead, I bet you could do some crafty Craigslist-ing still… and trust me, it’s worth it.

Opening is The Shining Twins and New York Rivals. I think Evan Dando is the only celebrity that would make me blush.

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading nyc // if i could talk i’d tell you at Pilgrims of Sound.

meta

