nyc // baklans baaklns balkans

June 2, 2011 § 1 Comment

Got a few?

Listen to “Edita V” by Balkans, a band from Atlanta that I think you might like.


.

What did you think? What if I told you that NPR’s All Songs Considered is into it, plus Spin named em one of their five best new artists in June? It reminds me a bit of the stuff that I used to make my carpool listen to at 5 AM when we were going to crew practice and I mean this is in the best way possible.

But perhaps, like me, you’re kind of curious what they sound like live? Well, I’m happy to tell you that they’re going to be at Shea Stadium tonight. I got into these kids on the recommendation of one Sippy Cup Everything, and I’m looking forward to it. I’ll be doing that thing where I go to shows alone and stand around like a weirdo texting pretty much everyone I know, so if you see a girl who needs a haircut do say hello.

9 PM $7

.fiasco [http://www.myspace.com/fiasconewyork]
..balkans [http://www.myspace.com/thebalkans]
…parquet courts [http://www.liveatsheastadium.com/bands/parquetcourts] (mems DST, TCK, Woods)
….shingles
…..mood rings [http://moodrings.bandcamp.com/]

The worst part is that Mood Rings are pretty rad, so I’m going to have to get there ON TIME. Woe.

§ One Response to nyc // baklans baaklns balkans

  • Ian says:

    The singer sounds like a cross between the singer of Who Shot Hollywood and Julian Casablancas. Like that voice.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading nyc // baklans baaklns balkans at Pilgrims of Sound.

meta

