nyc // surprise, too many shows

December 10, 2010 § Leave a comment

Still in the same random coffee shop, still listening to Christmas music and feeling hungry despite the large amount of Vietnamese food I just consumed. Battery’s about to die so I’ll try and keep this brief, though really I could write a novel about tonight.

Click to read more, yeah?

If not, listen to some Hall & Oates, cos it’s Friday.

In the name of short attention spans, I’m limiting this to my favorite three shows. In no particular order:

1. Sweet Bulbs are turning one year old, go to Shea Stadium to see if they can walk yet.

There’s lots of bands, so pardon me while I steal text from the Facebook eventSweet Bulbs, Byrds of Paradise (pristinely blown out wall of sound pop/punk), Weed Hounds (hazy, enveloping guitars blast through C-86 worship), Regal Degal (no waving their way into the post-wire trance kingdom), Kicking Spit (equal parts indie low-key drawl and shredder-happy thrash), Night Manager. $5 21+ 8 PM

Oh, I do love any opportunity to plug Weed Hounds…

.

2. One of the best bands I’ve seen live lately, Gunfight!, is at Union Pool with Roadside Graves, Unremarkable People, My Other Friend. 9 PM 21+ $8



3. Prince Rama opens for Deakin (of Animal Collective, yooou know) at the New Museum. 7 PM, $15 doors.


.

Battery’s at 20%, I’m out.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading nyc // surprise, too many shows at Pilgrims of Sound.

meta

